Community Activities

 
Here are some links to organized activities. We are always looking to update this list so please send contact information to Robert van den Hoogen rvandenh@stfx.ca to have an activity added. The town of Antigonish mantains this website with a list of community groups, events and facilities.
 

Theatre

 

Athletics and Recreation

Faculty/staff interested in organized sports have several options:  

  • Intramural soccer in October on the Memorial Field: contact John Phyne jphyne@stfx.ca  
  • Intramural volleyball in the winter semester in the Oland Centre: contact Sasho MacKenzie smackenz@stfx.ca
  • Intramural basketball in both semesters in the Oland Centre: contact Ping Wang pwang@stfx.ca
  • Recreational basketball Fridays at noon both semesters in the Oland Centre: contact Ping Wang pwang@stfx.ca
  • Recreational hockey, low intensity, non-contact, both semesters Monday night 7-8 and Thursday night 9:30-10:30 at the Keating Millennium Centre contact Jim Williams, jwilliam@stfx.ca
  • Recreational hockey, medium intensity, non-contact, both semesters Wednesday evenings 8:30-9:30 at the Keating Millennium Centre: contact Neil Maltby, nmaltby@stfx.ca
  • Surfing in the fall term at Wine Harbour: contact Rod Bantjes rbantjes@stfx.ca
  • Windsurfing both semesters (depending on how fanatical you are) at Mahoney's Beach: contact Rod Bantjes rbantjes@stfx.ca
  • Racquetball at the Oland Centre: contact Andrew Kendall, akendall@stfx.ca
  • Touch Football (off campus community league): contact Brian Nicholson brian@ns.aliantzinc.ca
  • Recreational curling, both semesters, Tuesday evenings 8:30-10:00pm at the Highlander Curling Club (St. Andrew’s, Route 16), $80 for 15 game season, contact Harry Daemon at 863-1220(W); 863-4441(H), Highlander Curling Club at 863-0052, or email highlander@cjmac.ns.ca
  • Recreational Dance both semesters: contact Sally Clark at sclark@stfx.ca or visit http://www.antigonishdance.ca/
  • St FX Athletic and Fitness Services, http://www.mystfx.ca/athletics/
  • Personal training, aquatics, group fitness and instructional programs information at http://www.mystfx.ca/athletics/fitnessmain.html.
  • Varsity sports information: http://www.mystfx.ca/athletics/index.html.